This site requires JavaScript to be enabled

CalGroups Google Sync Guide

271 views

5.0 - Last modified on 2026-09-02 Revised by Summer Scanlan

4.0 - Last modified on 2026-08-10 Revised by Summer Scanlan

3.0 - Last modified on 2026-08-07 Revised by Summer Scanlan

2.0 - Last modified on 2026-08-07 Revised by Summer Scanlan

1.0 - Created on 2026-04-22 Authored by Lynn Gu

Table of Contents

Overview and Requirements

The CalGroups-Google Sync feature allows a CalGroups group to automatically show up as a Google Group (bConnected list) at UC Berkeley. To use this feature, you must meet the following requirements:

How to Sync Your CalGroups Group to Google

Service Terms and Usage Rules

Synced groups must comply with the bConnected Service Terms and the Campus Online Activities Policy. Usage is restricted to departmental or campus-wide business purposes.

Syncing Tips and Limitations

Default Security Settings

When synced, the following default permissions are applied to the Google Group:

Management and Manager Permissions

By default, all CalGroups administrators (found in the Privileges tab) are synced as Managers in Google. If you wish to be the only manager in Google while keeping other admins in CalGroups, you must create a specific subfolder for your groups and restrict the admin privileges on that folder to yourself only.

Detailed Troubleshooting

If there is a discrepancy between the number of members you see in your groups in CalGroups versus Google, there could be several reasons:

Additional Resources

Testing CalGroups - Google Sync

How to Set Yourself up as the Only Manager in your CalGroups to synced Google Groups

CalGroups FAQs

What's the difference between Google Groups, bConnected Lists, and CalGroups?