Table of Contents
Overview and Requirements
The CalGroups-Google Sync feature allows a CalGroups group to automatically appear as a Google Group (bConnected list). To use this feature, you must meet these requirements:
- Admin access to a CalGroups Org or App folder is required
- Member limit for syncing is currently 350 members or less
- Request access by emailing calnet-admin@berkeley.edu to enable sync for your specific group
Usage Rules and Policies
Groups synced with Google must adhere to Campus Email and Online Activities policies. Membership should be for departmental or campus-wide business purposes only. Violation of these rules may cause your CalGroups access to be revoked.
How to Sync Your CalGroups Group to Google
- Navigate to the group you have created in CalGroups
- Click the More Actions button
- Select Edit Provisioning Info
- Select Yes for the option to Sync to Google bConnected Groups
- Save your changes
Limitations and Timing
- Wait at least 15 minutes for CalGroups changes to reflect in Google
- Manage all membership exclusively in CalGroups; you cannot add members directly in Google
- Note that synced groups will end with @calgroups.berkeley.edu
- Verify member counts; Guest accounts without a Google account will not sync to the Google side
Management and Managers
By default, all administrators of your CalGroups folder will appear as Managers in the Google Group. To set yourself as the only manager:
- Create a separate subfolder with its own specific Admin group
- Move the synced group into that subfolder
- Remove the broad Org-level admin privileges from that specific subfolder
Default Sync Settings
Synced groups default to Public for posting messages and Owners/Managers only for viewing membership. You can customize these settings within the Google Groups interface at any time, but membership must always be updated in CalGroups.