This site requires JavaScript to be enabled

Transfer Ownership of Files in Google Drive

7533 views

5.0 - Last modified on 2026-09-18 Revised by Riah Gouvea

4.0 - Last modified on 2026-06-05 Revised by Riah Gouvea

3.0 - Last modified on 2026-05-06 Revised by Marlita Kahn

2.0 - Last modified on 2025-07-15 Revised by Marlita Kahn

1.0 - Created on 2025-01-30 Authored by Marlita Kahn

Audience

 

Any file that is shared with you, even in a folder you own, is at risk of deletion when the owner leaves UC Berkeley, unless it is stored in a Shared Drive. Files stored in Shared Drives remain accessible to the group and are not affected by individual account changes.

Taking Ownership

To transfer ownership of files owned by someone else: 

Transferring Ownership

To transfer ownership of files owned by you: 

Important: If you transfer a large number of files at once, it may take some time for you to notice the changes reflected in your My Drive. Google has limits on the number of files you can transfer in a 24-hour period; you may receive an error message, and must wait before transferring more files.