A knowledge base article about Students Getting Started: Customize Your Settings provided by the UC Berkeley IT Service Hub - Knowledge Portal
bCourses includes a set of default notification settings you can receive for your courses. However, you can change the default settings by setting your own notification settings. These settings only apply to you; they are not used to control how course updates are sent to other users.
You can manage your personal user settings to customize how you interact with and appear within bCourses.
You may also want to link your bCourses calendar with the calendar that you normally use to keep track of your day.