A knowledge base article about Manage Your ChatGPT Account Transition provided by the UC Berkeley IT Service Hub - Knowledge Portal
Audience
- Existing ChatGPT subscribers migrating to the UC Berkeley ChatGPT Edu workspace.
- New ChatGPT Edu customers.
Submitting Your Edu License Order
Submitting your license order via the ChatGPT Edu Request Form does not result in immediate access to the Education workspace.
Requests are processed on a monthly basis, on the second Wednesday of each month. Requests made within 5 days before the end of the billing cycle may require one more cycle to take effect.
Preparing Your Existing ChatGPT Account
If you currently have a ChatGPT consumer account under your berkeley.edu email address, you should take the following actions to secure your data before joining the UC Berkeley ChatGPT Edu workspace.
- Request an export of your data from within your signed-in ChatGPT account. The export may take up to 7 days to arrive, according to ChatGPT. Read the instructions to export data from ChatGPT settings.
- Note: Accounts under Business and Enterprise licenses may not be able to directly export their data, and should contact OpenAI support for assistance.
- Once you receive the export link, it will be valid for 24 hours. You must be signed into the same ChatGPT account for the link to work.
- Download your data once the export is ready. Read the instructions for downloading your export. It is best to do this before joining the UC Berkeley workspace.
Setting Up Your New Edu Account
- Once your request is approved and processed, you will receive an invite from OpenAI inviting you to join the UC Berkeley Workspace.
- Best Practice: Export and download your data (see above) from within your existing ChatGPT consumer account (if you have one) before joining the Edu workspace.
- Click the "Join Workspace" button from the invitation email.
- If you have an existing ChatGPT consumer account under your berkeley.edu email address, you will be prompted to “Export and delete existing chat history.”
- This will provide you with an export link which will be valid for 24 hours. You must be signed into the same ChatGPT account for the link to work. Your previous account data will then be deleted and your new account within the UC Berkeley ChatGPT Edu workspace will contain no data.
- If you have a ChatGPT Plus account subscription, it will be cancelled and refunded upon completing the migration process. All other license types (Go, Pro, Business / Teams, and Enterprise) cannot be refunded at this time.