FAQ: Shared Drives for Department/Group Storage

A knowledge base article about FAQ: Shared Drives for Department/Group Storage provided by the UC Berkeley IT Service Hub - Knowledge Portal

Table of Contents

Audience

What are Shared Drives?

Shared Drives provide a secure, collaborative space for departments/groups to store and manage files in Google Drive, without risk of data loss. 

Why are they useful?

Any file that is shared with you, even in a folder you own, is at risk of deletion when the owner leaves UC Berkeley, unless it is stored in a Shared Drive. 

Files stored in Shared Drives remain accessible to the group and are not affected by individual account changes. If an employee leaves the organization, the files stay in the Shared Drive, helping keep group files secure, consistent, and available to all members.

How do I create and manage a Shared Drive?

Shared drives can be created and owned by employees. Follow the directions in Create and Manage Shared Drives.

How do students use Shared Drives?

Students cannot create Shared Drives themselves. Ask an active employee or student advisor to create one and add you as a Manager. Once you have Manager access, they can remove themselves from the Shared Drive. The creator of a student organization Shared Drive is not responsible for its content. If you need help finding someone to create a Shared Drive, contact OASIS.

If you have Editor access on individual files and you are a Contributor or higher on a Shared Drive, you can drag the file(s) into the Shared Drive so that your group can gain ownership. All members of the Shared Drive will gain access and be able to see everything inside the Shared Drive. The current owner will change to Editor and all others will retain the access they previously had. 

If you want to be able to move folders, you need to have Edit access on the folder and you need to be a full Manager on the Shared Drive.

How do I share individual files?

It is possible to share individual documents with people who are not members of your group, like you would share any document in Google Drive

How do I share with multiple people?

It is recommended to use Google Groups instead of individuals when sharing files. When you add a new member to a Google Group, that member is automatically added to all Shared Drives that include that group.

Can I add a non-UC Berkeley member?

Yes. You will be warned when adding members outside of the UC Berkeley domain.

How do I move files to a Shared Drive?

To move files from My Drive to your Shared Drive, follow the steps in the article Move Your Files Into a Shared Drive

How much storage does it have?

Google Shared Drives can contain a maximum of 400,000 files and folders. By default, each Shared Drive has a 25 GB capacity, but you may request an increase via Google Drive: Available Options and Requests page. For more information on limits, see shared drive limits.